Well, here's yet another one that just came in...as a job scam from a company called Mercet Group. The email came from someone by the name of Tanya Jones at email address of jose_lopez0846@yahoo.com but when you reply to the email a copy goes to this email address and one to hr@mercet.net that would give an impression of the validity of the company. But it's a scam. I'm going to pretend like I don't know any better to release all sorts of personal and private information to them to obtain information on the company. It looks like it is just another company that wants you to handle payment processing which should immediately throw up a red flag of fraud. Anyone else get this email?
P.S. I still very much resent Monster.com sharing or not having any accountability to those scammers who may have accessed my resume before I removed it several months ago. It is a company like Monster.com that should take care of their customers better...not sell out to scammers. But anyway...
Below is the verbatim email:
Mercet Group would like to attract strenuous and highly actuate people to participate in the contest for the Profit Monitoring Agent vacancy .
Our company offers wide scope of high class services to its customers , so it in full norm meets their requirements and guarantees both profitability and abundance .
The wage of Profit Monitoring Agent rise from $3,000. This is a part-time position , so you can combine this vacancy with your main job or grind to earn some superfluous money .
Main obligations:
- Ambitious, problem solving to build the marketing framework in the financial market .
- Both development of the recommendations and securing of the ones on financial goods optimization.
- Management of financial flows;
- Communication with prospective customers ;
- Profit monitoring for users;
- Processing of client payments.
- Reinforcement and implementation of “Mercet Group.” marketing policy .
Contacts:
You are welcome to direct your professional biography and ask any questions as to the matter using this email address with the following title : "OI HR: Profit Monitoring Agent".
We wait for you in our firm
“Mercet Group.”
Helena woman loses $1K in online scam
1 year ago
16 comments:
Why do you think it is scam?
Actually I have been working for this company for almost 3 years.
I have yet to find more information about this company. I also received an email from Mercet Group that indicated the same verbage offer. People, use your gut feeling and think....it is a scam!
Yes, They are using careerbuilder.com to spread the scam.
Here is the e-mail address they used to contact me.
tharani_22@hotmail.de
Feel free to flood it with spam!
just received the same email.. i think its a scam as well
I just received an email through Career Builders for the same job. I thought it might be a scam because the verbage is very suspect. Not something an Amercian would write, too formal! It's scary to think Mercet Group has my resume information. Here is the email address they used to contact me. Miami, FL
From: May Karam elitemayk@hotmail.com
To: riz1230
Date: Thu, Mar 10, 2011 11:23 am
Received a similar message from CLAUDIA ERNST - claudiaernst@hotmail.com stating they found me on careerbuilder.
Hilarious that someone would have replied that they work for this co.! I received the same email - "Michael Ratner to nascjffry" with a Hotjobs ID# to make it look "official". Scam emails like this always incorrectly use words like "Your commitments at this position COMPREHEND of :". Give me a break!
I requested more info and received a lengthy reply from
Stephen Lynn
Chief Human Resources Officer
Mercet Group
Phone (303) 502-1421
Fax (303) 225-1129
<hr@mercetgroup.biz
I can find anyone who's actually been burned by them, but it sure makes the alarms go off!
hERE IS A SIMILAR EMAIL I RECD. LAST WEEK FOR PROFIT MONITORING AGENT. PAYS $3,000 PER MONTH!
WHAT A CROCK~
Attached you will find the draft of your proposed Employment Agreement
and Personal Details Form.
Please understand that the terms set forth in this draft will only come into
effect once the agreement is signed by all parties. We hope you will find
the terms of the proposed agreement to be acceptable.
If you find the agreement to be satisfactory, please return a signed copy
along with the completed personal details form as an attachment to e-mail
or fax to (303)225-1129.
If you have any questions regarding the agreement or any other matter,
please do not hesitate to contact me.
Best Regards,
Gregory Hodges
Is it a real scam? I gave Stephen a signed agreement along with my personal details. Now he wants my ss # and driver license # to open an bank account. He says I will be an authorized user to be able to make transactions. If it is a scam, is there any gov. agency to concern about this? Please give me some advice.
Thank you.
Jin, I firmly believe this is a scam. If you have personal details given out on this, I would not give your driver's license number nor your social security number when requested. If you feel you are a victim, contact the U.S. Internet Crime Complaint Center. The URL is located at http://www.ic3.gov/default.aspx.
I have just become employed through this company. I created an account and set up the first transfer. Conducted some test transfers. I am waiting for the transfer of funds to finish processing. After I receive the funds I assume I will be waiting for instructions to transfer said funds. At what point is everyone being scammed? This makes me very nervous and I think I'm closing the account,but I don't want them to know that I am on to them just yet. I have contacted the institution's fraud unit for the account I set up and my personal bank as well. I plan to contact the institution the fund are being transferred from by the close of business today.
I just got the exact same e-mail (same wording and everything) except it was from a company called B & L Investments. I still don't really understand what the "job" is about. But it seems suspicious to have the exact same e-mail sent by two different companies. To the Anonymous poster above me (I have just been employed by this company...), what you said sounds like a scam that got me about a month ago. How exactly are you transferring funds and what is it they're asking you to do? I'm just asking because I might be able to shed some light on your situation. But I would advise anyone reading this to stay away from B & L Investments, Creatence Group LLC, Vogel & Schmitt GMBH, and anyone else giving offers like this. They're all the same and they will take your money and disappear forever.
I was contacted by Leoni Borgi of Vogel Schmitt GMHB. I was able to contact him several times as the first check I was supposed to receive never came. I finally did receive a check, but was unable to cash the check at any bank. All told me it was a scam. I have since replied to this man's emails asking if I had cashed the check. Every email I replied to came back as an invalid address. This is definately a scam.
Also received one from Advertising Associates. When I was able to find the company online and asked them about the woman who had sent me the offcer, I was told they didn't have anyone by that name. I also inquired of their email service and was told they don't use that email service. There are lots of these scams out there.
@Verla
I wish I would have had your luck. I did cash the check and it ended up not clearing. Of course they never know that until the week after you cash it and send the money along. But I'm really glad to know there's somebody who didn't end up getting scammed by them. The bounced check ended up wiping out my account and put me $1,000 in debt.
Bottom line to anyone who gets offers like this... If you are sent a check and asked to cash it, it will bounce a week later and you're stuck paying it back. If you are transferred money into your account and asked to send it somewhere (I thought this was safer because the money had cleared), it will clear preliminary screening so that you can withdraw it but then you'll get a call from your bank a few hours/days later saying that upon further inspection they've found that the money came from an illegal source and they need you to pay it back (of course they don't realize this until you've already transferred it). Since then my bank has closed my account and denied any services to me in the future, and I've had to start over with a new bank with my last few hundred dollars in my balance. I just hope that someone reads this and doesn't make the same mistakes I did.
Post a Comment